Millions Of Dollars Recovered
For Bad Faith Insurance Denials

  1. Home
  2.  → 
  3. Denied Insurance Claims
  4.  → Five things passengers should know after an auto accident

Five things passengers should know after an auto accident

On Behalf of | Oct 10, 2022 | Denied Insurance Claims

Auto accidents can cause severe problems in Oklahoma. Drivers may take solace in the knowledge that they have auto insurance to cover for medical expenses, property damage and more. However, passengers may worry about what will happen to them if they need medical care, are unable to work, have long-term injuries and more.

After a fatal accident, the victim’s loved ones will need to know their rights. This also includes people who have been involved in an accident while in a rideshare. It is wise to have a grasp of state insurance requirements and what is available to passengers and to have professional help with maximizing their recovery.

What are five factors to consider when passengers are in an auto accident?

As traumatic as it is to be in an auto accident, passengers should remember specific facts. There are five things they should be aware of following the collision.

Know if the driver of the vehicle and the other driver have insurance

Drivers are required by law to have liability insurance. In Oklahoma, there must be 25/50/25 protection. That is $25,000 in coverage per person and $50,000 per accident and $25,000 for property damage. There can also be personal liability. People who have borrowed the automobile will also be covered under the owner’s insurance. Unfortunately, some people get behind the wheel without proper insurance or any insurance at all. Then it might be necessary to consider legal options to recover compensation for all that was lost. Many drivers have uninsured motorist coverage in case they are in a crash with a person who is not covered.

Getting all the vital information is necessary

Passengers who have been in a crash must know who they were in the accident with, the circumstances, their license information, the type of vehicle they were driving, their license plate number and where the accident occurred. If possible, photos should be taken and even video. Naturally, if passengers were seriously hurt or need to be hospitalized, they cannot do this immediately. The information can be acquired later from the driver and through the police report.

Seek medical care

This might sound like a simple piece of advice. However, people may not believe they were injured that badly. They could think about the cost of getting medical treatment and refuse it. The insurance coverage is supposed to pay for that care, so there is no harm in going to the hospital even if the passenger does not think it is necessary.

In cases where the person does not have any obvious injuries, it is even more important that they get treatment. There might be soft tissue injuries, brain trauma, back injuries and other damage they could not see clearly in the immediate aftermath.

Know the rules for rideshares

Rideshare drivers are required to have insurance coverage for themselves and their passengers. Uber, for example, has basic insurance coverage and third-party liability coverage for up to $2 million. There is also $2 million in Family Protection Coverage and collision coverage with a $1,000 deductible. Passengers should make certain their driver was covered and licensed.

Understand the importance of legal assistance

Insurance companies can find various ways to deny claims. With a rideshare accident, they might say that the driver was under the influence and use that tactic to deny responsibility and leave it all to the driver’s insurance, which might be lacking. Knowing how to make sure they pay is wise.

Consulting with professionals who understand insurance is key

Passengers are placing their lives in the hands of other people. That can be risky and cause them major personal, physical and financial problems if there is an accident. The aftermath of a collision can be made worse if there are obstacles to getting insurance to pay for treatment and aftercare.

Whether it is a denial, underpayment, delays, refusal to defend or any other problem, it is wise to have professional help that understands all areas of insurance and denied claims and disputes. Calling is a useful first step to make sure the insurer does their duty and pays for those who are harmed in an auto accident as a passenger.