Insurance can be confusing. While most Oklahomans know that they need some type of insurance, after all everyone is required to carry insurance, they’re oftentimes unsure about the type of coverage they need and the extent that coverage must go in order to align with the state’s requirements. It’s important to gain clarification on this issue. If you don’t, then you could end up not only with a ticket from your local law enforcement officer, but also too little coverage to protect you in the event of an unexpected car accident.
What are Oklahoma’s requirements?
Oklahoma does have insurance requirements. Every driver must have minimum liability coverage for $25,000 worth of bodily injury protection per person, $50,000 per accident, and $25,000 in coverage for property damage. Although that might sound like a lot of coverage, it actually isn’t. A wreck can easily result in injuries that cost well over $25,000 to treat, and if the other individual who is involved in the accident drives a new vehicle, then the minimum coverage isn’t going to set you straight financially when all is said and done.
What are your options?
You could go with the state minimum, but you might be putting yourself at financial risk, as you could be responsible for paying any other costs in excess of the coverage amount out of your own pocket. If you want to avoid that from happening, then you might want to consider purchasing a larger policy, such as one that covers up to $100,000 in personal injury damages.
Also, remember that this liability insurance only covers damage that’s caused to someone else. It doesn’t cover your own losses. Therefore, if you want to protect yourself as fully as possible, then you might want to consider taking out a comprehensive auto insurance policy that will also cover your losses in event that some are incurred.
You’ve got a lot of options out there when it comes to your insurance coverage. Make sure that you research those options so that you can choose the one that makes the most sense for you and your family.
Complications in the claims process
Once you select the policy that’s right for you, you might breathe a sigh of relief, feeling like you’re covered no matter what. Even in these circumstances, though, you might see your insurance claim unduly delayed or denied after a car accident, regardless of whether you’re filing that claim with your own insurance company or with the other driver’s insurance provider.
There might be number of justifications that the insurance company gives you for non-payment, a lower payout, or a denied claim. As disheartening and confident as their words may be, you shouldn’t just accept what they’re telling you. After all, insurance companies act in bad faith all the time, leaving innocent policyholders like you without the resources that needed to recover from an accident. This is unacceptable.
What should you do if your claim is delayed or denied?
If your claim is delayed or denied, then you need to take action. Make sure that you document all communication with the insurance company and its representatives and keep track of all of your accident-related expenditures. Then, make sure you’re educating yourself about what insurance companies can and can’t do during the claims process.
By taking these steps, you’ll hopefully have a better understanding of where you stand from a legal perspective. At that point, you can start focusing on how to craft the legal arguments that you need to aggressively support your position.
With a strong legal strategy on your side, hopefully you’ll be able to obtain a favorable outcome so that you can focus on your recovery and getting back to your normal life.